Skip to main content

Job Application

Complete the form online to submit your application.

Rehabilitation of offenders Act 1974 and Declaration.

PLEASE NOTE that due to nature of this role such employment is exempt from the provisions of Sections 4 (2) of the Rehabilitation of Offenders Act (Exemption) Act 1975. Therefore, applicants are not entitled to withhold information relating to convictions, reprimands, cautions or warnings which for other purposes are ‘spent’ under the provisions of the Act. Any failure to disclose such convictions and of course, any other convictions, could, if the applicant is given employment, result in dismissal or disciplinary action.

 Further information about the disclosure scheme can be found at

Only relevant information will be taken into account so disclosure will not necessarily bar employment with Drop In and all information will be kept strictly confidential.

I agree, if I am selected for this appointment, to checks being made with the Disclosure and Barring Service (DBS) for any record of convictions or cautions against me.  I am aware that such information as appropriate for Standard/Enhanced Disclosures will be made available.

Disclosure and Barring Service (DBS)

The Disclosure and Barring Service (DBS) is a non-departmental public body of the Home Office of the United Kingdom. The DBS enables organisations in the public, private and voluntary sectors to make safer recruitment decisions by identifying candidates who may be unsuitable for certain work, especially involving children or vulnerable adults, and provides wider access to criminal record information through its disclosure service for England and Wales.

It is a legal requirement in the UK for regulated activity employers to notify the DBS if a person leaves or changes their job in relation to having harmed someone. It is an offence for any person who has been barred by the DBS to work or apply to work in Regulated Activity (whether paid or voluntary) with the group (children or adults) from which they are barred. It is also an offence for an employer to knowingly employ a barred person in regulated activity with the group from which they are barred.

The process by which the DBS provides criminal record data is called DBS Certificate or a DBS check (previously CRB check). There are four levels of DBS checks, Basic, Standard, Enhanced and Enhanced with barred list checks.

Different levels of disclosure can be provided, according to the type of work applied for.

This role will require an ENHANCED WITH BARRED LIST checks, these are for positions with greater contact with children or vulnerable adults, like counsellors, social workers and doctors, for example which require an extra level of checking.